Forum Sign in | Join Forum
     Bookmark and Share

Trouble exporting files to Laser

Last post 01-13-2012 10:00 AM by martin kopplow. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-05-2012 8:23 AM

• DTTech
    • Top 100 Contributor
    • Joined on 01-05-2012
    • Posts 4

Trouble exporting files to Laser

Hi, I'm fairly new to SC and very new to the forum so should introduce myself,  My name is James and I am a Technician in a secondary school in Shropshire.  I was supporting a class today and the plan was to make a paper prototype of the kids designs (desk tidy) which they had created in SC.

However, I have had no sucess at all trying to output/export a sheet metal file from SC to our Mercury Laser cutter (via 2D Design).

2DDesign doesnt seem to recognise the file types - I saved a copy of the file in EVERY fiel type from the drop down list offered by SC (about 20).

I have read another thread on here regarding to something simillar, so I tried that (in effect it is what I had already done) - that thread was posted around 2010 so I figure this sort of thing is old news now..

I appreciate any help any of you can offer.

• 01-05-2012 3:08 PM In reply to

Re: Trouble exporting files to Laser

Hi James
    I expect that you have created the 2D drawing of the part in Spaceclaim, file new\drawing sheet.

Make sure that the scale is 1:1
    Next, go to DISPLAY and make it HIDDEN line removed, it is under the Graphic tab/dropdown
    There is NO export in SC, so save as DXF, making sure that the 1:1 scale is ticked and the DRAWING format option is UNTICKED.
    Finally make sure you use ACAD12 as the output Verison type, the rest just go haywire

next in 2D import, make sure that the bits for inches is changed to metric  (a 50mm box is very large at 50 inches), finally remove teh IMPORT as a group.  then press OK

You should have the parts on the screen, you now need to remoe all the  bits you don't want, including the SPACECLAIM water mark.